How to Get Your New Mexico Plumbing License

You are here:

Have you decided to start your plumbing journey in New Mexico?

Then, having a New Mexico plumbing license is a must so that you can start serving plumbing services in this state. 

To know the steps, requirements, qualifications, and cost to get the license, continue reading this blog.

Who Provides Plumbing Licenses in New Mexico?

The Mechanical Plumbing Bureau of New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department is governed to look at all the affairs related to plumbing licenses. 

Its duty is to inspect the mechanical and plumbing industry and enforce the state’s adopted codes, standards, and licensing. Here are its contact details:

    Official website: Click here
    Phone: (505) 476-4700
    Email: [email protected]
    Address: 5500 San Antonio Dr., Albuquerque, NM 87109 (Construction Industries Division)

Types of Plumbing Licenses in NM

There are 3 types of plumbing licenses in New Mexico:

  1. Apprentice plumber license
  2. Journeyman plumber license
  3. Plumbing contractor license

What are the Requirements to Get a New Mexico Plumbing License?

Here are the requirements for each plumbing license in this state:

1. Apprentice plumber license

  • Meet the age requirement of 18 years or older.
  • Have a high school diploma or GED.
  • Enroll in a plumbing apprentice program from an employer or sponsor.

2. Journeyman plumber license

  • Get 2 years (4000 hours) of practical and 144 hours of classroom experience as an apprentice plumber.
  • Submit the application for journeyman plumber along with the required documents (details ahead).
  • Pass the written and practical exams.
  • Pay the required fees.

3. Plumbing contractor license

  • Meet the eligibility criteria (4 years and 8000 hours of plumbing experience) yourself or find a qualifying party.
  • Submit the application for plumbing contractor along with the required documents (details ahead).
  • Pass the required exams – Plumbing trade and Business and law exam.
  • Pay the required fees.

    Pro tip: You don’t need quality yourself as a contractor to get this license. If you have a business partner or an employee who meets these requirements, you are all set with him/her being the qualifying party.

What are the Costs Involved for a Plumbing License in NM?

Here are the various costs for plumbing licenses in New Mexico that you will have to pay:

1. Journeyman

  • Application fee: $75
  • Exam fee: $68.88 for each exam – written and practical. Total – $137.76
  • Renewal fee: $75

2. Contractor

  • Application fee: $30
  • Certificate fee: $6
  • License fee: $150
  • Exam fee: $68.88 for each exam – Plumbing trade and Business & law. Total – $137.76
  • Renewal fee: $150

    Remember:

    • You need to renew your plumbing license every 3 years. If the due date from renewal is gone past 90 days, your license will be canceled.
    • Cash isn’t allowed when paying any of your application fees. You have to pay by check, money order, VISA, MasterCard, or American Express.>

NM Plumbing Exams Details

You need to pass the exam for both – journeyman and contractor licenses. Check out the details for all the exams you will have to tackle in your journey as a plumber in New Mexico.

1. NM journeyman plumber exam

As per the official data from PSI for the journeyman exam for plumbers, here are its details:

  • Questions: 70
  • Minimum percentage required: 75%
  • Time allocated: 185 minutes
Topic No. of questions
Drainage waste and vents 21
Water supply systems 6
Backflow prevention 4
Storm drainage systems 4
Plumbing fixtures, including water heaters and accessibility 9
General knowledge and general regulations 10
Interceptors and traps 4
Isometric analysis 5
Hydronics 4
Septic and sewer 4

2. NM plumbing contractor exam (MM-1)

As per the official data from PSI for the contractor exam for plumbers, here are its details:

  • Questions: 100
  • Minimum percentage required: 75%
  • Time allocated: 250 minutes
Topic No. of questions
Drainage waste and vents 25
Water supply systems 10
Backflow prevention 9
Storm drainage systems 6
Plumbing fixtures, including water heaters and accessibility 10
General knowledge and general regulations 15
Interceptors and traps 9
Isometric analysis 10
Septic and sewer 6

3. Business and law examination (for contractor’s license)

As per the official data from PSI for the business exam for plumbing contractors, here are its details:

  • Questions: 50
  • Minimum percentage required: 75%
  • Time allocated: 130 minutes
Topic No. of questions
Licensing Requirements 8
Estimating and Bidding 5
Business Organization and Financial Management 8
Tax Laws 5
Labor Laws 4
Project Management and Lien Law 5
Contracts 8
Risk Management 4
Environmental and Safety 3

Steps to Get Your NM Plumbing License

    Step 1: Get to 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or GED.

    Step 2: Find an employer or sponsor for your apprenticeship program and work under the guidance of a licensed journeyman or contractor.

    Step 3: Gather 2 years (4000 hours) of practical plumbing experience and 144 hours of classroom training by a plumbing union, trade school, or community college.

    Step 4: Determine the classification for your journeyman license based on the type of work you intend to do. It is JP for Journeyman Plumber and JPG for Journeyman Plumber and Natural Gas Fitter.

    Step 5: Submit the application packet for the journeyman license by hand or mail to PSI at this address:

    PSI
    2820 Broadbent Pkwy NE, Suite E&F
    Albuquerque, NM 87107

    It must include complete, signed and notarized:

    Step 6: Wait for the approval after the verification of your documents. You will be notified by USPA via postcard. Upon approval, schedule your exam by calling PSI at 1-800-733-9267 or online. You will have to pay the required exam fees.

    Step 7: Submit the passing report to PSI and wait for your license to arrive.

    Step 8: Congrats! Now you are a licensed journeyman plumber. Your license will be active for 3 years, after which you need to renew it by summiting the renewal application and fulfilling the continuing education requirement (refer to FAQs below).

    Step 9: Determine the classification for your contractor license based on the type of work you intend to do. It is MM-1 for Plumbing Contractor.

    Step 10: Check with PSI if the name you intend to use for your business is available.

    Step 11: Submit the application packet for the contractor license by hand or mail to PSI at the address mentioned above. It must include

    • Complete the contractor license form.
    • Copy of the valid qualifying party certificate
      OR
      a copy of the exam report with passing scores for all the required exams. 
    • Proof of financial responsibility: a bond of $10k issued in the exact name of your business.
    • Proof of current New Mexico Tax ID number application with official stamp or registration certificate.
    • Proof of registration with the New Mexico Secretary of State IF going for Corporation or LLC.
    • Self-addressed envelope large enough and with sufficient postage.

    Other requirements:

    • Licensed contractors performing work on manufactured homes must be registered with the Manufactured Housing Division (MHD).
    • Workers’ compensation insurance is required for all contractor license applicants (you may be exempted if you are a sole proprietor with no employees).

      Pro tip: You don’t need to give a Business & Law Exam if you have passed a business and law course from a CID-approved school. In this case, you will have to submit an official transcript showing a passing grade.

    Step 12: Once your application packet is approved, your contractor license will be issued and sent to you by USPS.
    Step 13:Congrats! Now you are a licensed plumbing contractor. Your license will be active for 3 years, after which you need to renew it by summiting the renewal application.

Do You Know How InvoiceOwl Helps Professional Plumbers in Daily Work?

Try InvoiceOwl today and create professional estimates and invoices in a few clicks to win more jobs & payments.

CTA arrow
Frequently Asked Questions
  1. What continuing education requirement do I need to fulfill for each renewal cycle of my journeyman license?

    You will have to complete 16 hours of continuing education, out of which 8 hours must be code related.


  2. Does New Mexico have a reciprocity agreement with any other state?

    No, currently, New Mexico doesn’t have any reciprocity agreement. So no plumbing licenses of any other state will be held valid.

Conclusion

With all these details served, you are now ready to take your first step in your plumbing journey in New Mexico – get the required license. Remember that without a license, it is illegal to provide any plumbing services. So, apply for a plumbing license now and grab the lucrative opportunity of earning $27.38 an hour on average, as per the current data from Indeed.

Once you get your plumbing license in New Mexico, then make sure that you smoothen your business operations like estimates, invoices, payments, and updates through automated software like InvoiceOwl.

It is an estimate and invoice software for plumbers that allows them to create estimates & invoices in a few taps and receive payments faster than ever.

Author Bio
Jeel Patel
Jeel Patel
Founder

Jeel Patel is the founder of InvoiceOwl, a top-rated estimating and invoicing software that simplifies the invoicing and estimating processes for contractor businesses. Jeel holds a degree in Business Administration and Management from the University of Toronto, which has provided him with a strong foundation in business principles and practices. With understanding of the challenges faced by contractors, he conducted extensive research and developed a tool to streamline the invoicing and estimating processes for contractors. Read More

United States

San Jose

US